Advertisement

Happy to see this site exists

topic posted Sun, February 27, 2005 - 12:17 AM by  tumbleweed
Share/Save/Bookmark
I'm new to Tribe and am constantly amazed every time I come on and discover new stuff. I love to go to figure drawing workshops, and would love to discover some new ones in the LA area if anyone can fill me in. Anyone ever go the YWCA drawing workshop in Santa Monica? Sara Streeter is modeling there this tuesday I hear. She's got to be the greatest model I've ever drawn, and she's a sweetheart.
posted by:
tumbleweed
Portland
Advertisement
  • Re: Happy to see this site exists

Fri, April 1, 2005 - 3:13 PM
    I know of two life drawing workshops I really love.
    One is at El Camino College the last Sunday of every month. Check out lifepainting.com for specifics (think that's right). Its all day and lately there have three rooms. Long, short and medium poses.

Also Angels Gate in San Pedro on Tues, 7- 10 pm. Nice small group, friendly, mellow vibes, very professional models. Ten bucks for 3 hours - hard to beat that!

Maybe I'll see ya there.

namaste!

Sat, April 2, 2005 - 4:58 PM
    tumbleweed...
    If i may ask, what is it that makes a life drawing model so wonderful?
    I too model for drawing classes, well did (recently moved), i feel that sometimes i'm 'on', while other times i seem so boring to draw. The artits say they enjoy drawing me, however i haven't ever gotten the 'why' reasons...
    Would you,,,Could you enlighten me...from your own perspective?
    thanks,
    sarablue ...

Mon, April 4, 2005 - 11:25 AM
      sorry, I havn't looked in here in a long time. I used to model for drawing workshops too, and a lot of the time I felt I was boring, but everyone enjoyed drawing anyway. Sometimes just having the naked form in front of you is all it takes.